The two-acre Bradley Museum is located on the edge of Lake Ontario, nestled in a 70-year old maple grove. The site has accessible nature trails, connects to the Waterfront Bike Trail and is within walking distance of the Rattray Marsh. The Bradley Museum complex consists of four buildings, three of which are designated Ontario Heritage sites:
- The Anchorage, an Ontario Regency style cottage from the early nineteenth century;
- The Bradley House, a two-story saltbox-style farmhouse from 1830;
- a restored Port Credit log cabin from the mid 1800s;
- barn from the turn of the last century.
The Bradley House
This saltbox style farmhouse was built in 1830 by Lewis and Elizabeth Bradley, originally from Savannah Georgia. This United Empire Loyalist couple and their seven children lived here for 20 years. The marigold yellow and black house has classic qualities of the period. Originally restored by the Mississauga Heritage Foundation, the Bradley House opened to the public in 1967. The house still stands on the original land that was owned by the Bradleys.
After Lewis Bradley died in 1846, his wife sold the house. After several owners, the house and surrounding land was purchased by the British American Oil Company – now known as Suncor. It was slated for demolition in 1959 when local newspaper publisher, Kenneth G. Armstrong purchased the house and gave it to the Township of Toronto Historical Foundation (now known as the Mississauga Heritage Foundation) in early 1961. In the mid- 1960’s the house was moved further north on the property and fundraising and restoration of the house began with a team of volunteers and community activists.